• Contested territories
  • Area 0,187554 km²
  • Population 50

These ninety islets and reefs are the heart of a dispute between Korea and Japan. The Liancourt Rocks have been administered by South Korea since 1954. This action was taken after the United States stated in the Rusk documents that the Japanese claim to the Liancourt Rocks would not be renounced in their peace treaty with Japan. The Japanese call the islands Takeshima (bamboo islands) while in Korean they are called Dokdo (solitary islands). The rest of the world know them as the Liancourt Rocks, after a stranded French whaling ship.