• Unrecognized states
  • Independence declared on 15 November 1983
  • Capital North Nicosia
  • Population 313,626
  • President Mustafa Akıncı
  • Area 3,355 km²

The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (Turkish: Kuzey Kıbrıs Türk Cumhuriyeti), is a de facto state that comprises the northeastern portion of the island of Cyprus. It unilaterally declared independence in 1983, and is recognized only by Turkey. A buffer zone under the control of the United Nations stretches between Northern Cyprus and the rest of the island and divides Nicosia, the island's largest city and capital. Attempts to reach a solution to the Cyprus dispute have been unsuccessful. The Turkish Army maintains a large force in Northern Cyprus.