• Contested territories
  • Claimed by Japan, China, Taiwan

Three islets and five barren rocks are known in Japan as the Senkaku Islands, in China as the Diaoyu Islands and in Taiwan they are known as the Tiaoyutai Islands. Japan has controlled them since 1972, when they were handed over by the Americans, who had had administered them since 1945. Despite the political conflicts between China and Taiwan, both governments agree that the islands are part of Taiwan with Japan rejecting this. In 2014 the Hollywood documentary ‘Diaoyu Islands: The Truth’ was released to great acclaim in China.