• Unrecognized states
  • Independence proclaimed 27 October 2017
  • President Carles Puigdemont
  • Capital Barcelona
  • Population 7,522,596
  • Area 32,108 km²

Catalonia is an autonomous community in Spain. It is in the northeastern corner of the Iberian Peninsula and is designated as a nationality by its Statute of Autonomy. It consists of four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona. On 27 October 2017, the Catalan Parliament declared independence from Spain following a disputed referendum. The Spanish Senate voted in favour of enforcing direct rule by removing the entire Catalan government and calling a snap regional election for 21 December. On 2 November of the same year, the Spanish Supreme Court imprisoned 7 former ministers of the Catalan government on charges of rebellion and misuse of public funds, while several others, including then President Carles Puigdemont, fled to various European countries.