• Unrecognized states
  • Independence declared 1991
  • President Bako Sahakyan
  • Capital Stepanakert
  • Inhabitants 146,573
  • Area 4,400 km²

Nagorno-Karabakh is a mountainous and forested region in the South Caucasus. Internationally, it is recognized as part of Azerbaijan, but it is governed by an Armenian de facto republic who declared independence in 1991. A war was fought from 1991-1994, and since then, ongoing peace talks have been held—the disputed borders continue to be very active. The de facto republic relies heavily on Armenia, and a huge capital inflow comes from the Armenian diaspora in Russia and the United States. Nagorno-Karabakh is recognized by Abkhazia, South Ossetia and Transnistria.